Helmet dilema - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dick

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old Sep 23rd, 2014, 8:59 am Thread Starter

Helmet dilema

Alright, this is my first post and I know that there are a lot of threads around helmets and everyone has their own head, so they have differing opinions.

Here is a little history-

I have a HJC CL-11 from about 18 years ago. At the time I got it, it was all I could afford and it was replacing the same model that bounced off the road and saved my noggin. Recently, I started riding again and it is creating a wonderful hot spot on my forehead. Deciding that it is time to replace the ancient model with a new one- I went to the local shop to try on a few.

This is where it got frustrating for me. I tried on a Sy-Max III, a Scorpion Exo 900, a Shoei Neotec and a Schuberth C3 Pro. As you can see from my selection, I am leaning towards a modular, but have no issues with the full face I have as it has served me well. After trying them all on, I couldn't tell a difference in fit on my oval head as they all felt like pillows compared to the one I currently have.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. While price is not a big deal when it comes to head protection, I hate to spend the Schuberth $$ if a Sy-Max or Shoei are just as good.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old Sep 23rd, 2014, 9:10 am
Ego equitare, timo ego sum

Re: Helmet dilema

I went from the Symax, to a Caberg Justissimo to the Shuberth C3 Pro.

I had a lot of forehead pressure on the Symax and the Caberg, so much so, that I carved out (relieved) some of the hard foam inner shell to reduce the pressure on the forehead.

The C3 Pro fits with no uncomfortable pressure points; though it costs a lot more than the Symax or Caberg.
post #3 of 15 Old Sep 23rd, 2014, 9:03 pm
cws

Garage

If you get a chance also try a Shark Evoline modular.