Ride and Flight. - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By PadG
  • 1 Post By PadG

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Nov 9th, 2019, 11:43 am Thread Starter
Lifetime Supporter

Ride and Flight.

I always have my helmetcam on, when I ride, in order to capture video (in full 4k) and images that I might find interesting after the ride. Nowadays, very large hard-disk are very inexpensive, and so the video files gets stashed as permanent records.

In addition, I also carry either my DSLR or my DJI Mavic Pro drone in my tankbag. Whereas I have been a hobbyist of photography since I was about 12 years old, I have to say that the Mavic Pro is fully responsible for my taking serious interests in professional video grading and editing, because of the features that it offers for videography! For example, all of my drone video are taken in D-Log setting, and that is, in the raw state, quite ugly looking. Here is a jpeg snap-shot of what the untouched D-Log video looks like, to give you some ideas:

For those who might not know, the appearance is quite deliberate, in order to capture the maximum amount of dynamic range, and the video footage thus captured, are "fixed" in a video editing software that has the capability of applying LUT (Look-Up-Table) of predefined color property setting to convert the video into something that is very much more vibrant than what the raw footage would indicate.

Compare the picture above to the graded and edited video compilation that I had just published on YouTube. The helmetcam footage, from the SONY FDR-X3000 is as it appeared straight from the camera, while the drone clips have been graded (color) in Adobe After Effect and compiled in Premier Pro.

PS: the video compilation is in full 4k resolution, and you should adjust your playback setting to the maximum resolution as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	D-Log.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	1.46 MB
ID:	154947  
PMitchell likes this.