I parked it next to the LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old Dec 3rd, 2010, 2:42 pm Thread Starter

I parked it next to the LT

Last night I got home from picking up my new-to-me 2007 R1200R. When I picked it up it had 247 miles on the clock. It only took me two days and 816 miles to make the 437 mile trip back to my house. I have been riding a 2000 K1200LT for several years and a 1978 R100S many years before that. It felt like riding a scooter for the first mile and a half. It was an amazing ride. I took it to a dealer 120 miles from where I picked it up and had the 600 mile service and brake line recall performed.

On the way home I rode in mountain twisties, on some amazing two lane desert roads in the middle of the Mojave, in 60 degrees and in 31 degrees. What a great bike! I was worried at first. Not about failing FD, failed EWS rings, or bad seats. I was worried because I didn't have THE smile after the first day. Once I hit the desolate desert roads and twisties on the second day I found myself smiling so much it hurt. I put 461 miles on the bike the second day and my butt didn't even hurt.

The gentleman I purchased the bike from could not have been nicer and easier to deal with. As I was pulling out of his heated garage he put his hand on my shoulder and told me to enjoy the bike like he wished he could have. I fully intend to do just that.

2007 R1200R

2000 K1200LT

1978 R100S (long gone, but not forgotten)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old Dec 3rd, 2010, 3:57 pm

Re: I parked it next to the LT

Congrats on the new-to-you Christmas present, Sean! Gonna keep both scoots in inventory, are ya??