Smokin' R1200c - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old Aug 30th, 2008, 11:45 am Thread Starter

Smokin' R1200c

A couple of months ago I bought a 2002 R1200C w/24K miles on it. Before taking delivery, the dealer gave the bike it's 24K mile service and two brand new tires. When I start it up the exhaust puts out huge amounts of smoke and when I rev it, it smokes even more. It eventually stops after I ride it a bit. Now, I've worked with cars enough to know that this would probably mean that the O-rings may need to be replaced but I'm not sure if this is the issue with a bike since I'm fairly new to the riding world. Has anyone ever had this problem and if so do you know what the cause is? Also, if this is a real issue about what is it going to cost me to get it fixed?

Thanks,

Ken - Atlanta, GA
'08 R1200RT
'02 R1200C

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BMW Motorrad
The Ultimate Riding Machine
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old Aug 30th, 2008, 2:00 pm

Re: Smokin' R1200c

As the bike only has a side stand this means that oil will find itīs way into the left hand cylinder whilst it is parked.

This is where the smoke will be coming from.

For all info about the bike go to this brilliant web site www.chromeheads.org
post #3 of 8 Old Sep 1st, 2008, 7:08 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by simoncharles
As the bike only has a side stand this means that oil will find itīs way into the left hand cylinder whilst it is parked.

This is where the smoke will be coming from.

For all info about the bike go to this brilliant web site www.chromeheads.org