'96 R1100r BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON! - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Jul 1st, 2008, 5:32 pm Thread Starter

'96 R1100r BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON!

I'm new at this....Does anyone have an idea why the brake light stays on when not in use? Also the ABS light on the dash flashes, but will go off if that indicator is pushed to reset it. Brake fluid is full in both reservoirs. I read alot of comments about the 1200, but not much on this bike. Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old Jul 1st, 2008, 11:09 pm

Re: '96 R1100r BRAKE LIGHT STAYS ON!

Hi Leigh
Did you mean it stays on even w/ the key in the off position. Just make sure you are not locking the forks and turning the key to the parking light position. If not that, some in past had to fool around with a relay switch.

Both red abs lights should blink together on startup. Once you start rolling you will hear a clicking noise sounding like it is coming from below your seat. When that sound is heard both abs lights should go out. You are now good to go.

If on starting your abs lights wig/wag, turn off ignition and try starting again. ABS system is sensitive to a weak battery. Had to go with a gel battery to get reliable abs trouble free starts. And even at that if it sits for a week or so it will wig/wag at startup. I have never used the reset switch for abs. Just turn off ignition and turn back on. It was the same with both 1995 R1100s I have had. If the battery was really weak and I couldn't start it without abs lights wig/wag, I would ride it down the street, turn ignition off and back on, and bump start the thing. Stop at the stop sign at the end of the street, abs clicks when I startup, and I'm good to go. Once warmed up it was rarely a problem again.

Glenn BTW
California Delta Country
05 LT, ocean blue ( the replacement player)
05 LT, dark graphite (motorcycle heaven)

1100RT-P in a previous life