trip planning 101 - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Oct 3rd, 2009, 5:56 am Thread Starter

trip planning 101

I am just getting into doing some touring and longer rides
(for me any way) and I am wondering how you went about selecting your routes and finding the roads and the points of interest along the way? How do you plan your time to see everything on your list and finish about on time?
As I start to plan for longer and longer rides I am finding that the planning process seems to be an art in and of its self.
I have been reading the ride reports here for several months and I am amazed at what can be packed into a two week trip.

How is this done???

thank you

Jadm
San Jose CA
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old Oct 3rd, 2009, 8:11 am

Re: trip planning 101

Karen and I start by planning a route on 2-lanes
Then figure about 300 miles/day stopping in a place that sounds good.
Then look at 1/2 way through that day and find another place that's interesting for a lunch break.
OR................................
On our 11,000 mile ride this summer, we made up the next days route every evening.......

Allan..Illinois, Oregon, Arkansas, and tomorrow the Universe
2003 K1200LT trike - Starfighter
2004 R1150RTP - Combat Touring
IBA #38152
BMW-MOA 97667
Patriot Guard Riders
...and man of leisure

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 5 Old Oct 3rd, 2009, 10:15 am

Garage

I'd actually suggest getting with a group ride to see how/what occurs. leave the routing up to the group leader to get a sense of what is needed, what you like. barring that the above post is pretty acurate. don't plan on too much too soon, just enjoy the ride and time with the SO or others.

Hoss
'Stupidity has a knack of getting its way.' --Albert Camus
'05- K1200LT - Gretchen
R.I.P. - '00- K1200LTE- "Barbara" - Retired at 168K 9/2011
MOA, IBA, EXR & RCB and TMI