New Member from Vermont - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old Aug 8th, 2017, 4:23 pm Thread Starter

New Member from Vermont

Hello,

My name is Mike and I live in Vermont.

I am in the market for a new bike and I was hoping everyone here could provide me with valuable advice as I know little about BMW's. I have been riding street bikes for over 30 years and dirt bikes a bit longer. I currently have 4 bikes, 2 Ducati Monsters (old and new), a Honda Blackbird, and a Honda CBR600RR track bike. Today I just sold my Harley Davidson Electra Glide Ultra Limited and am now thinking about a BMW or a KTM to fill the void the Harley left.

I have always had a problem with speed and I thought the Harley would help me cure that - I just realized it was too heavy and the ground clearance wasn't enough for me. I originally bought it with the thought of riding from the east coast, to the west coast, and back to the east coast. I still want to make that trip but with a lighter bike that is sportier. Right now I am leaning towards an R1200RT and a KTM Super Duke GT. I am very new in learning about these bikes so my knowledge is limited but what I think I know is that the BMW would be a better touring bike where the KTM is sportier. Navigation is important as I have an awful sense of direction! Heated grips, electronic cruise control also very important, the heated seat on the BMW sounds nice although I have never ridden a bike with one so I am not sure how well they work. Radio and bluetooth I don't care too much about, more all day comfort day after day, which the Harley was really good at.