Hello from an F800GT rider - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By beech

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Dec 26th, 2016, 10:31 pm Thread Starter

Smile Hello from an F800GT rider

Hi there,

Just wanna say hi. I've been enjoying my F800GT for a few years, wonderful bike on twisty mountain roads.

I am here to find out about other BMW products. I see a lot of R1200RT on the road and it seems to be the motorcycle of choice for law enforcement both in Europe and in the USA. I'd like to try it out one day ... but at over 600 lbs, that's a heavy motorcycle.

Anyhow, wanna say hi.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Dec 26th, 2016, 11:20 pm

Re: Hello from an F800GT rider

Welcome. Yes, it would be noticed from your F800. But it is a comfortable, weather protected and fantastic road bike that can do the occasional dirt road when you want to. The last couple of year bikes are lower and smaller than previous models and I suggest you go take one for a ride. Probably the best touring motorcycle out there and there is some sport in it also, to be sure. All the safety features and other amazing items make it pretty super.
In past models, I found it top heavy only when the gas tank was full. And, I consider that one of its features, the 6 gallon take lets you go almost 300 miles. I live on the West coast and consider this a good thing.
Whiskey likes this.

Beech
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I change your tires $40, you buy them on the web.
K13S, S1000R (gone through a few GS's & RT's)
post #3 of 4 Old Dec 27th, 2016, 8:07 am

Garage

Welcome from Kennesaw GA!

I ride an 1100RT and think it's a great bike. It's not extremely heavy IMHO. It carries the weight it has well. The performance is great. As previously mentioned, the fuel range is awesome, and the ergonomics are good enough that I can take advantage of that long fuel range.

2000 R1100RT