4Likes
  • 1 Post By McWideglide
  • 1 Post By beech
  • 2 Post By beech

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old Sep 13th, 2018, 5:50 pm Thread Starter

Winter Storage

hi
I am new to BMW bikes, so I was wondering if I need to do anything special before putting my K1600gtl away for the season (just had hand surgery)
it is stored in a unheated garage
the oil has been changed, fuel stabilizer added and it is on a battery tender
thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 Old Sep 16th, 2018, 10:03 pm Thread Starter

Re: Winter Storage

well, I am guessing with no replies, I must have it covered
thanks
post #3 of 23 Old Sep 16th, 2018, 10:55 pm

The only additional thing I might also do is get it up on the center stand which you may have already done so the full weight of the bike is not sitting on one spot on the tire for an extended time. Other than that, you have the basics for storage covered.

Gordon
Sugar Hill, GA
2001 K1200LTI – Champagne (current ride) Lazy Susan
1998 R1100RT – Never should have sold it
1974 Yamaha TX 750 Twin. Omni Phase Balanced

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 23 Old Sep 16th, 2018, 11:14 pm
Lifetime Supporter

I am glad my winter storage is just adding an additional layer of clothing to combat the cool. Rarely ice or snow. Only on the higher mountain tops.
BMW16GT likes this.

McWideglide

Jeff M.
2002 Harley Dyna Wideglide
2016 BMW R1200RT
2009 BMW K1300GT sold
1976 BMW R90/6 sold
1967 BSA 441 Victor sold
post #5 of 23 Old Sep 17th, 2018, 12:33 am

You have done as much as reasonable. Just do not start it up until you are ready to ride it.
Patric likes this.

Beech
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I change your tires $40, you buy them on the web.
K13S, S1000R (gone through a few GS's & RT's)
post #6 of 23 Old Sep 17th, 2018, 9:27 am
Lifetime Supporter