Rear brake stuck/ not fully releasing - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By joseph_p

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old Aug 26th, 2013, 7:28 pm Thread Starter

Rear brake stuck/ not fully releasing

I've got a 2003 K1200LT and after the mechanic changed my rear brake pads (about 3 months ago), I began noticing that my brakes were squeaky/ a bit noisy as I started riding. I also noticed a fair bit of brake dust and my fuel consumption when up. Finally after a ride, when the bike was set on the centre stand and in neutral, the rear whell just wouldn't free-wheel freely - on different days, there'd be various degrees of being suck - from rotating and stopping sooner that you'd except of a free-wheel spin (like someone was gently pressing the brakes) to just refusing to spin (like someone was pressing the brakes harder).

I notice the squeaking get noisier when the brakes/ wheels warm up and when the bike is in netural, I can feel like it's being held back.

I took it to the mechanic before and he tried bleeding the brakes and he took off the whole rear brake (off the disc) and re-attached the brake mechanism. He eventually got it to free-wheel while in netural on the centre stand but once I rode it off and the wheels/ brakes warmed up again and once I'd pressed the brakes, the semi-stuck brakes symptoms surfaced again.

This morning I took it to the mechanic and like what we'd observed in the past, when the bike first got to him (he's about 1.5 miles/ 2km from my home), the rear wheel free wheeled easily. I then took it for a ride and after riding a further 1.5miles/2 km the semi-stuck brakes symptoms appeared again.