Motorcycle Lift for LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old Jun 8th, 2013, 4:38 pm Thread Starter

Motorcycle Lift for LT

Hello LT pilots. Since it's time to do a considerable amount of work on the LT (shocks, fork seals, brakes, plugs, etc) I am thinking that a lift or lift table might be a great investment. Does anyone have an opinion on which is better? Lift vs. lift table? Also, if you have one, which make and model do you have?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old Jun 8th, 2013, 5:12 pm

Re: Motorcycle Lift for LT

You will need a lift table for the LT since it's design does not allow it to be lifted from underneath. The budget conscious have chosen the Harbour Freight model which seems to work well although I have no experience with it. Do a search and I'm sure you will find a ton of information on this topic.

Mugz

"If at first you don't succeed... well, so much for skydiving."

BMWMOA - #45711

2006 K1200LT - Blue Baby
2003 R1150GS - Yellowbird
1981 R100CS - Sadly gone
1991 K1100RS - Sold and burned
1986 K100RS - In the past
post #3 of 21 Old Jun 8th, 2013, 6:29 pm Thread Starter

Hey Mugz, We have a Harbor Freight locally. Already called them. They have 3 table lifts in stock....only $320. I'm going to go look at one today or tomorrow. Don't know why I didn't think of them to begin with. Thanks.

post #4 of 21 Old Jun 8th, 2013, 6:48 pm

Garage
Thumbs up Re: Motorcycle Lift for LT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_B
Hey Mugz, We have a Harbor Freight locally. Already called them. They have 3 table lifts in stock....only $320. I'm going to go look at one today or tomorrow. Don't know why I didn't think of them to begin with. Thanks.
Jim,

Have the Harbor lift, use it with all my bikes including the LT. One thing about loading the LT on the lift, you will need to build some side boards to allow you to walk it up.