First Impressions - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old Mar 10th, 2013, 11:30 pm Thread Starter

Smile First Impressions

I am new to the K1200LT. Having owned several other BMW's ('04 RT, '12 RT), several Harleys and several big Kawasaki Vulcans, this is my first K bike. I found a mint '06 with only 20,000 miles on it. This past weekend my fiance and I headed out for an afternoons tour from the Seattle area out to the ocean.

At barely 5'9" and with the stock seat, I am perfectly comfortable on the bike alone, however riding two up is another story at slow speed (coming to stops on cambered roads, maneuvering in pkg lots, gas stations etc) certainly ratchets up the pucker factor. I have quickly learned to NOT try and navigate a turn, after starting from a stop, with passenger on board. This bike needs some speed before doing much of anything and you truly have to plan your escape route before stopping somewhere.

Once up to speed this is a wonderful machine that handles beautifully (as many I've read have said, like a sportbike), with or without passenger. In the twisties this big bike comes to life and is feather light and scalpel sharp in its stearing. The RPM's of a 4 cylinder machine is going to take some getting used to however. After loafing along the freeway with a V-twin, the constant 3500 + RPM's do get a bit annoying after a few hours. I really wish this had a 6th gear.

I love the brakes, but dislike the footpegs. After spending the better part of a full day on this bike, my beat-up knees were screaming on the ride home, begging to be stretched out and it left me dreaming of my old Harley's forward floorboards. Somebody please tell me the best fix for a forward hiway peg. The "J" pegs I've seen?