BMW Newbie and hopefully a new bike - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old Feb 25th, 2013, 3:48 pm Thread Starter

BMW Newbie and hopefully a new bike

Hi all,

I'm new to the BMWs in general. I have a 92 Goldwing I'm shipping to Europe for a 1 month trip and would like a new bike to replace it. I've always liked the BMWs and really like the K1200LT. I test drove one by me this week and it feels 200 lbs lighter than my Wing, so nimble!

I am looking at a few 2000s. Ranging from 500 (yes 500) miles to 85,000 miles. I'm concerned about the low mileage one because of lack of use. They took it to the dealer to bring it back to life...new battery, new fuel pump, rebuilt clutch too. Some stuff just to get it going set them back $3,000! I thought I smelled antifreeze slightly twice during the ride. I plan to take it into the dealership for a pre-purchase inspection, but is there anything else I should be aware of? Are there any major issues with these bikes that I should know of? I have an 85 VW van, so I know that age can affect parts (rubber parts) just as much as mileage.

There is another I'm looking at with about 45K on it. Just trying to compare different bikes.

Thanks everyone!
Scott
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old Feb 26th, 2013, 8:54 am

Re: BMW Newbie and hopefully a new bike

my 05 had been sitting for two years when I bought it and shortly after i started riding it on a regular basis the rear main seal started leaking so I had that and the clutch replaced, which was not cheap. Did they replace any seal when they did the clutch? If so then I would feel better about it.
post #3 of 4 Old Feb 26th, 2013, 10:54 am