Flushing Integral ABS Brakes - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old Feb 18th, 2013, 7:58 am Thread Starter

Flushing Integral ABS Brakes

I studied the manual and the excellent write up I found here (author unknown?), and now I am in the process of flushing the brakes. So far I have flushed the front control circuit, which I suspect is for the first time by how dirty the fluid was. For the brake circuits, the procedure calls for use the brake servo motors to pump the fluid while bleeding at the calipers. If possible, I would rather use my hand vacuum pump to vacuum bleed at the calipers since that seems much easier to control. Is there a reason not to do this?

Thanks, Jim

Jim
2003 BMW K1200LT (my favorite 2 wheeled land yacht)
2008 Yamaha FJR1300 (recent addition)
1982 Yamaha Vision (long gone)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old Feb 18th, 2013, 10:11 am

Re: Flushing Integral ABS Brakes

I am sure the xperts will chime in but I do not believe you can use the vacuum bleed process with the servo pump.

I found a post that works great for me but not sure if it was ever put in the hall of wisdom. I place the vent lines on the reservoir caps in a bottle of fluid. The vacuum created by running the servo pump draws fresh fluid into the reservoir and keeps them full. For me this was much easier that messing with the vacuum bleed system.

Attached picture does NOT have the tubes connected to the reservoir cap vents. It is just pictoral reference on how it is done.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	brake 4.jpg
Views:	2133
Size:	215.2 KB
ID:	37690  

Roy Gregersen

Ride Slow, Ride Fast, Always Ride Safe
85 K100RT sold
02 LTC DOA 9/21/14
12 R1200RT

Last edited by bigbear; Feb 18th, 2013 at 10:20 am.
post #3 of 26 Old Feb 18th, 2013, 11:18 am
Wrencher Extraordinaire