I am starting to hate this bike. - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 40 Old Oct 8th, 2012, 12:02 am Thread Starter

I am starting to hate this bike.

So I've been riding my 1999 KLT for over 7 months.

And I did a 2000 miles round trip on it.

But I still think the bike is too heavy.

I just dropped it once again this evening. I was on a twisty road, missed the turn and needed to turn around.

Pulled into this space to turn around, the ground was tilted and I leaned a bit too much and the bike went down on the left side. It just flobbed over and so hard that the mirror became detached.

2 guys came over & helped me pick it up....I can never lift this thing by myself...I am 160 lbs and the monster is 840.

I think if I keep this bike I will just end up destroying it or killing myself, it is simply too heavy....I feel the weight everytime I need to park it or stop or turn, the steering is also stiff and not light and the bike is simply unweildy in size, mass and weight.

And it doesn't help that it is heigh off the ground/high center of gravity.

Any thoughts, advice or recommendations from those who are very familiar and are experts on this bike?

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 40 Old Oct 8th, 2012, 1:39 am

Re: I am starting to hate this bike.

I've had my 2001 LT since August 2000.
It took patience, practice, and accepting that I will occasionally drop the bike,
especially towards the end of the day when I get tired.
With practice, you'll learn how to do a 180 degree turn on a narrow 2-lane road.
And lots of other things that a touring bike shouldn't be able to do.
It took several thousand miles and hours of practice until I mastered my LT.
It's been a great relationship for 119,,000 miles.
Don't get discouraged.
Don't be intimidated.
And always keep the front wheel pointed forward when stopping.
post #3 of 40 Old Oct 8th, 2012, 2:44 am Thread Starter

Thank you for your kind words.