Any material difference between a 2000 custom and a 2003 lt - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Aug 5th, 2012, 10:33 pm Thread Starter

Any material difference between a 2000 custom and a 2003 lt

Hi all,
My first post, just been lurking and absorbing data while shopping for a used LT.
I am looking at 2 bikes both in similar (good to excellent) condition. Both priced the same and about what I want to spend. 03 has 48k, salvage title due to theft recovery, bought in Germany and driven all over Europe and I assume, serviced there, but no records. 00 has 68k clean title and known local dealer service history. I am a mechanic and am not worried too much about the inherent mechanical issues but rather any improvements, design features or options not available on the 2000 that were added in 03 that I may want later.
Thanks to all who have pioneered problem solving which has already made my experience easier. Any information or opinions about these bikes would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Aug 5th, 2012, 11:08 pm

Re: Any material difference between a 2000 custom and a 2003 lt

The 03 LT has updated final drive bearing that have few failures compared to 99 through 02 models. Also starting with 02 models the brakes are servo assist abs . Those are main two differences. Good luck with your shopping and purchase.

Clayton
2003 K1200LTE 128k miles and counting
1999 GL1500A
2009 R1200GSA
post #3 of 9 Old Aug 5th, 2012, 11:56 pm

This thread should give you relevant information:
http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthre...ht=2000+models

I fouund it by searching with "2000 models"

aA big differance between those years is the braking system. The 03 has the front and rear brakes linked while the 00's brakes are not linked.

If you scan through the site you will find a few LTs with over 100K.