Your first Day! - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old Jul 24th, 2012, 7:35 pm Thread Starter

Your first Day!

Today Tues 7-24-2012 5 days of ownership of a 2009 LT. This bike was the first one that I looked at. 12,010 miles seems to have everything. I have a long time friend that has had many BMW's he rides a '04 1200 GT now with 55,000 miles on it. I have been riding since 1969 so am rather seasoned. 15 years ago I bought a 1992 1100 Shadow I havw put 35,000 miles on it.

This LT was the first one I looked at and rode. My buddy always wanted me to ride his bike. Though I knew I would want a BMW. I've put it off for more than 5 years. Never did ride his ride. Though decided to get a BMW to really ride with my wife like I want to.

On Craigslist saw a '09 LT for 15K at San Jose BMW. Called saturday and went to see it tuesday. Looked clean obviously not dropped. Did the credit check thing then rode it. Went out on 280 it seemed real tall! Rode well liked the motor, shifted well a little noisey compared to my old Honda. While changing lanes and hitting the turtles it seemed that there was alot of vibration on the foot pegs. I didn't force the suspension as the front tire was severely worn. Over all rode nice.

Upon returning spoke to Chris the owner about the suspension. He said that it probably was the pre-load.On day 5 I adjusted this down and all is well. The tallness that I experienced I would suggest owners to dial this down as this lowered the bike and made Stopping and Starting actually normal!
so 5 days and 500 mile later I am loving it.

Things I want ... seemless mp3 player.Oh that uses the existing controls. Not sure why this is so hard.

The only thing that I have had a issue with while riding is the cruise control. Wouldn't turn on twice in the last 5 days. Stopped and let it all reset and it worked again..

My advise to all is to lower pre-load and the beast won't be so top heavy....

thanks..