Where to get new parts for repair? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old Nov 3rd, 2011, 5:12 pm Thread Starter

Where to get new parts for repair?

Thanks to everyone's great help here I decided that I have to replace my starter relay. I am studying up on how to remove the plastics and find the relay.

#1 Do I have to REMOVE the gas tank to get at this starter relay?

#2 Where would you recommend I get the starter relay and is it a KIT or just a new relay?

Thanks again for all your help!

Nick

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old Nov 3rd, 2011, 5:19 pm

Re: Where to get new parts for repair?

I like Bob's BMW in maryland, good people and good service. They also stock parts I thought would have to be ordered.
post #3 of 10 Old Nov 3rd, 2011, 6:00 pm

Garage

Try Denise at Bentonville cycles, Bentonville, AR. 479-273-1807. Personal service and fair prices.

Bill Jennings, fhp
Denison, TX

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

BMW States
BMW years and miles, 32 years 500K+

AMA, CMA, IBA, POG, MSF, FHP, etc

'99 K1200lt
'76 R900/6
Various Vintage Dirt Bikes
-Greeves (Sold), Pentons, Hodaka, etc.

Remember you are not lost till you run out of gas!

post #4 of 10 Old Nov 4th, 2011, 3:37 am

You got the parts info so I'll answer your other question. Yes, you do have to remove the tank. Make sure you find the post that tells you how to install the new relay. It's a little different so you have to bust off a chunk of plastic and attach a wire to an existing wire.

http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthre...+starter+relay

2nd post

While you are in the neighborhood be sure you check your air filter.

Loren

WAK1200LT
Loren

Cave quid dicis, quando, et cui
post #5 of 10 Old Nov 4th, 2011, 8:20 am