New member and a question - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old Oct 9th, 2011, 8:04 am Thread Starter

New member and a question

Hi everyone

I'm new to the BMW world and back into riding a motorcycles. I've been away from riding for several years. But I'm back on the saddle again, so to speak. I bought a 1999 K1200LT with 30k miles last week. What a great bike! Wanted to ask though how hard would it be to add a iPod hook up to the audio system? I know that there's the adapter that plugs into the tape deck player but nota big fan of those set ups. Thanks Paul
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old Oct 9th, 2011, 8:32 am

Re: New member and a question

Welcome to the forum Pete. There are a few methods available to put your iPod playlists on your '99. Assuming that you don't have a factory comm system.

You are aware of the 1st method. The old cassette thingey that you plug into the cassette player. I have one and it works well. The handlebar volume control works but you can't move around in your playlists.

The second method is to buy an Dice unit that replaces the 6 stacker in the right side case. This is a ice option as your handlebar controls sill work for volume and let you move around in your playlists. Some have had steller performance with these units, others not so much.

The third option is to replace your factory radio with a Jensen marine radio. You lose volume control on the handlebars but the head unit is very convenient to navigate around. The folks who have made this switch seem quite happy with them.

I also use a CardoScala bluetooth intercom system that has an MP3 player input. The rider and passenger can listen to their own tunes and the systems work well.

I plan to trade out my fully functional stock radio for a Jensen.