07 FD failure - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old Sep 12th, 2011, 10:52 am Thread Starter

07 FD failure

I have an 07 with 29K on the odometer. First that I noticed any slippage was during a pass that I down shifted from 5th to 4th and rolled on throttle and it very slowly engaged. Get it home and noticed a leak aft of the motor. I have not torn into it yet but am suspecting that I am now a member of the 4% club. I can not afford for BMW to do the work. I am open to suggestions as how to get this done, I am a good assistant mechanic but am not sure about doing it by myself after seeing the pictures of other bike all the way down to bare bones. I do know I want to ship off the FD and have it rebuilt by the gentleman up in the northeast (CT I think). I found a new clutch but they will not be in production until Dec so sounds like a good winter project. If anyone in the Baton Rouge area has the know how and is willing to help me through this I can provide food and beer.
Thanks in advance.

1982 Suzuki SP500 (traded)
1980 Yamaha Seca 750 (sold)
1998 Honda Shadow 750 (traded)
2000 Yamaha Roadstar Silverado (sold)
2007 BMW K1200LT (son will inherit)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old Sep 12th, 2011, 11:10 am

Re: 07 FD failure

sounds like you got clutch failure not FD failure???

Just Go
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mike
Cleveland Ohio
2014 K1600 GTL Grey Wolf.
post #3 of 24 Old Sep 12th, 2011, 12:48 pm

Question Re: 07 FD failure

+1 here as well. What causes you to think you have FD problems? It sounds like Clutch slippage, which could be the Slave cylinder or Rear Main Seal leaking if not plain wear.

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by mwnahas
sounds like you got clutch failure not FD failure???

John & Marilyn Fisher
'00 K1200LTC "Katie"
'95 Triumph "Tigger"
'12 Triumph 800XC "Tigger II" (RIP)