Newbie here with tire question. - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old Sep 4th, 2011, 1:45 pm Thread Starter

Newbie here with tire question.

Hello to every body and want to express my thanks to all de knoledgeable posts and comments from all the members in this forum. I have been checking this forum out for the pass couple of weeks and finally decided to sign up since there is a world of help and resources in here. Just purchased a 2007 K1200LT with 10k miles with factory tires that needed to go. Visited the guy that`s been doing all my bike tires for years without problems and he installed a set of Michelin Pilot Power 2CT but the rear size is 160 60 17. Since this is my first time on a Touring like this and also just go it a week ago with no experience on how it rides, I don`t feel a problem with it, in fact, it handles better on curves and straightens right back up without hassle, the abs don`t seem to have a problem with the diffence size and I measured the floor to rim distance and the back rim is almost a inch further from the ground than the front with the stock size wich means that the back tire still is taller than the front one. I know that the load capacity is less (69V) instead of 79V but I figure me and my wife conbined are about 295 lbs and we don`t carry much luggage anyways, and life expectancy is going to be less. I`m not worry about that as long as the tire grips strong in corners and handles smooth. Question is, have anybody experience the same situation? and please give me the downs on this issue for future refference. Thank you for your response in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old Sep 4th, 2011, 2:12 pm
IBR# 366

Garage
Re: Newbie here with tire question.

First, welcome, Ricardo. The LT is an awesome bike, and you and your wife are gonna have lots of great fun on it.