What next BM or GW - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old Mar 11th, 2006, 12:08 pm Thread Starter

Smile What next BM or GW

Hi - UK Newbie here.

I currently ride a Burgman 650.

I am musing about spending some of the kids inheritance and am looking at the Beemer LT or an 1800 Wing.

Apart from the huge amount of money that both these machines will cost what real world advantages will either or both offer over the Burgman 650.

For reference, my Burgman offers:

1. Twin Cylinder 650cc DOHC engine.
2. Fully auto (& tiptronic) transmission which by definition is always 'on song'.
3. True 100mph capability with effortless 80mph cruising.
4. Weather protection for the rider (less so the pillion passenger).
5. In excess of 104 litres of very useable storage space (with a Givi E52 mounted).
6. Around 60+ miles to the UK gallon.

Interested in your view.

Nice website by the way - very well organised and well laid out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old Mar 11th, 2006, 12:16 pm

Take off on your 650 for a month put on 3300 miles
If you feel the need to re-ask the question when you return then ask. Scooter = around town.
K1200lt or Wing = extended riding fun.
post #3 of 21 Old Mar 11th, 2006, 12:23 pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by NormanB
Hi - UK Newbie here.

I currently ride a Burgman 650.

I am musing about spending some of the kids inheritance and am looking at the Beemer LT or an 1800 Wing.

Apart from the huge amount of money that both these machines will cost what real world advantages will either or both offer over the Burgman 650.

For reference, my Burgman offers:

1. Twin Cylinder 650cc DOHC engine.
2. Fully auto (& tiptronic) transmission which by definition is always 'on song'.
3. True 100mph capability with effortless 80mph cruising.
4. Weather protection for the rider (less so the pillion passenger).
5. In excess of 104 litres of very useable storage space (with a Givi E52 mounted).