Looking at my first BMW. Opinions pls... - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 28 Old Aug 21st, 2011, 3:12 pm Thread Starter

Looking at my first BMW. Opinions pls...

I have been riding street bike about 20years and dirt bikes another 10 years before that...I have had 2 Honda road bikes a Harley , and on my 2nd yamaha fjr1300.
I'm looking for a touring bike something with cruise and something more comfortable for the wife.....
Im currently looking at a 2002 k1200lt with 55k miles on it....what is your honest opinion on the Beemer k1200lt.....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old Aug 21st, 2011, 4:13 pm

Smile Re: Looking at my first BMW. Opinions pls...

I just bought my first touring bike about 2 months ago (2000 miles), I have been riding dirt bikes for 40 years now and street from enduro to sport since I was 16. I purchased a 2001 K1200 LT with ABS, cruise and reverse. I purchased used because I couldn’t see myself on something so big and a windshield and didn’t want to make a large investment in new if I didn’t like it…. It turns out I love my LT it rides great and handles better than I could imagine, from the info I found here on handling characteristics, keep the RPM’s above 4 in the twistys and I am dragging both stands turning left and have occasionally had to pick my feet up to keep them off the asphalt. I am hooked!!!! I even like the stereo, cruse control and never thought I would like a windshield. I say find a good deal on a used K1200 LT and test the water, you will probably be as surprised as I was. I still have my Ducati 900 ss just in case but have not even ridden her to work since buying the LT. Jump in the water is fine!!!
post #3 of 28 Old Aug 21st, 2011, 5:01 pm

Re: Looking at my first BMW. Opinions pls...