Unigo Trailer Bearing Replacement - BMW Luxury Touring Community
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By deputy5211

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old Aug 20th, 2011, 1:23 pm Thread Starter
Super Moderator

Unigo Trailer Bearing Replacement

I have been towing a Unigo for 5 years and thought I would replace the bearings plus when I rotated the wheel I hear a growl. Called Unigo several times
no answer . . . grrrr!

I have the bearings but looking for some one who has actually done this before me. The attached sketch shows the hub, bearing and spacer.
What I am not sure of is how to push the bearing out.

So there are two possibilities:

1. The hub on the left shows there are 2 bores and you need to either pull the bearings out or knock the spacer out of the way and push a bearing
out by placing a driver thru the bearing on the other side.

2. The hub on the right shows a straight bore and possibly you push both bearings and the spacer to get the one bearing out and then push the other
bearing out from the other side.

Oh yea I did hear they use Green Loctitie - so I assume a little heat would help reduce the stresses on the hub when removing the bearing

Looking for suggestions or enlightenment or experience !!!

Dan Finazzo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted to get"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old Aug 20th, 2011, 2:58 pm

Re: Unigo Trailer Bearing Replacement

Not having a Unigo trailer but from what you have drawn, I would suggest that the first drawing is what would be used. You don't show what is on the outside to retain the bearing. But mechanically that is how I would suggest that the bearings are held in alignment in the hub.