wiggley fornt end - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old Apr 12th, 2011, 9:38 am Thread Starter

wiggley fornt end

Hello there all, I just purchased a 06 k 1200 lt. I have been riding a HD for 5-6 years. I love the new bike. but noticed that at really slow speeds (like making a U-turn) the steering seems to be loose. Is this normal. You never know about a used bike. It does just fine at speed but turning at 2 miles an hour it is kind of loosey goosey. Any commets about this form you ex-perts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old Apr 12th, 2011, 9:54 am

Re: wiggley fornt end

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keithkmb
Hello there all, I just purchased a 06 k 1200 lt. I have been riding a HD for 5-6 years. I love the new bike. but noticed that at really slow speeds (like making a U-turn) the steering seems to be loose. Is this normal. You never know about a used bike. It does just fine at speed but turning at 2 miles an hour it is kind of loosey goosey. Any commets about this form you ex-perts?
Its a weird feel alright she's really twitchy at low speed differently need to stay several steps ahead with low speed maneuvering.

The supreme irony of life is that hardly anyone gets out of it alive.

09 K1200 LT
Project LT:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Future plans

University Place, WA
Riding since 1969
post #3 of 11 Old Apr 12th, 2011, 10:12 am

The first impression I had when I got the LT (also have a Harley), was that the front end felt "mushy", as if there was a delay from my moving the handle bars to feeling the front end move. Is that more or less what you're feeling?
If so, I no longer feel that. I guess it's just a quirk of the bike and not an issue for me now. HTH.
Frank.

post #4 of 11 Old Apr 12th, 2011, 10:28 am Thread Starter