Introducing myself - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 52 Old Feb 4th, 2011, 3:46 pm Thread Starter

Introducing myself

I recently bought a 1999 K1200LT that I plan on using on a cross country motorcycle trip in May, 2011. I have also just joined this forum. I would like to introduce myself and ask a bunch of questions.

First, a little info about me and the motorcycle. I have been riding motorcycles for about 45 years. For the past 19 years, I have been riding a 1992 Harley FXR that I bought new and still own. It now has 93,000 miles on it. I had planned on taking the Harley on the country trip until I recently saw an ad by Ace Motorsports in Concord, CA for a meticulously cared for 99 LT with 36,000 miles for $6,750. The service records I received indicate that last servicing was a 12K servicing, plus new tires, etc. The bike as it was sold to me was actually ready for the cross country trip. I could leave tomorrow.

I have had a lot of difficulty getting use to riding and handling the bike, particularly at low speeds. For awhile I thought it was me and my not being as good a rider as I thought I was. Now that Iíve read a bunch of the comments here, I realize it is the bike and not me. It is a top heavy (very heavy) bike that shines best on the highway. At slow speeds and in city traffic it is a dog. Sharp, slow, hairpin turns that I easily do on the Harley are still impossible for me on the LT. Iíve almost tipped over the bike a couple of times when maneuvering it at gas stations and while parking it. It took all my strength and energy to hold it up. I plan on doing a lot of practicing in empty parking lots at slow speeds to get use to that.