Clutch fluid change - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old Jan 14th, 2011, 8:13 am Thread Starter

Clutch fluid change

Noob here. I just bought a 2002 with 43K mikes. Everything seems fine except the trunk latch. I will have to do the fix for that. The corner is already broken off. I am a long time BMW rider and do all of my own work. I am starting a 12k service and will be doing a brake and clutch fluid change. I found a great brake fluid change thread in the Halls of Wisdom. I can't seem to find anything on flushing the clutch fluid. They are both dark so I doubt that they have been done. I am looking for info on the coolant change also. Any help would be much appreciated. All of the other fluids were just changed by the PO which happens to be a good friend of mine. Excellent Forum. I am also a F650 rider and I though that was a good site.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old Jan 14th, 2011, 9:17 am

Re: Clutch fluid change

Greetings and welcome aboard. The clutch is very easy to do. When I ordered Speed Bleeders) for brakes, I ordered a 5th unit and permanently installed it in the clutch bleed line. The steps are in the Clymer manual, but you can get by with a little less work than they detail.

The clutch bleed line is located under the right side "tip over" wing. Remove the wing cover and you will see a tube with a piece of rubber surrounding the end and the whole thing ty-wrapped to the frame. Cut the zip tie and pull out the slack in the tube to get to it. As with doing the brakes, you need to turn the handle bars so the reservoir is as level as you can get it. I did not loosen and rotate the master cyl. as the book says. Look carefully at the mark inside the reservoir and do not over fill as you need to reinstall the cover which will displace some fluid.