New To The Sight / Bmw Question - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 Old Jan 8th, 2011, 2:06 pm Thread Starter

New To The Sight / Bmw Question

Hello to all,

I have been riding for many years and our last bike was a custom "06" Yamaha Roadliner pictured in my signature. Recently, we sold the Roadliner and are done with the cruisers and have our sights on a BMW. One of my friends let me ride his K1200LT and I was hooked within 10 minuutes. The smoothness, riding stance and handling are what most stood out and hooked me ("you had me from hello") from the start. I am not interested in any other manufacturer other than BMW and I need assistance from as many people that will reply. Our last ride was 1730 miles in 4 days and enjoy our long weekends, but it was too long and painful on the Yamaha. We are planning on touring around the US and need a bike that fit our needs.

My wife also wants a BMW because of the sexy lines and their reputation with their automobiles.

Here's my concerns: I am in the position to purchase any BMW motorcycle, but want to purchase the right bike for me. My options are the K1200LT or the R series motorcycles. I see where the RS was the "Touring Bike of the Year" in motorcycle magazine. This bike even beat the Goldwing. However, what makes this bike the champion compared to the LT? I will be purchasing a bike within the next two months and would appreciate everyone's thoughts because I do not want to ride a bike and think of the bike I could have had.

Warmest Regards,

Jeff
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 Old Jan 8th, 2011, 2:27 pm

Re: New To The Sight / Bmw Question