Bmw Dependability - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 56 Old Dec 31st, 2010, 3:29 pm Thread Starter

Bmw Dependability

Im new to the BMW community, just bought an 09 LT 3 weeks ago. But after reading all the post on here Im wondering if I should of stuck with HD. At the top of this page it says JUST RIDE IT, but it should say RIDE IT WHEN YOUR NOT WORKING ON IT.
I have always heard how dependable BMW's are. Have I been misled???
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 Old Dec 31st, 2010, 3:41 pm

Re: Bmw Dependability

Doug, WELCOME..... Just take a deep breath and enjoy a very dependable ride. Most of us ride for years without having to make a major repair. The ones you hear about are a very small % and I'll bet that a major % of them are those who are constantly modifying their bike.

I'm sure that there are exceptions, but as an example, my 02 has had 48,000 trouble free miles. (except today a heated handgrip malfunctioning!)

All mechanical things eventually break and require maintenance. THis bike has given me nothing but pleasure and is as dependable as any other bike I've owned. Of course, my facts are anecdotal...

Dano
Tampa, Fl.

12 K1600 GTL
02 K1200 LT (gone but not forgotten)
post #3 of 56 Old Dec 31st, 2010, 3:41 pm

Every owners' forum is full of repair threads; that's the nature of these forums. You post when you need help, not to say, "Hey, everything is perfect!" I don't have personal long-term experience with BMW, as I recently bought my first one. However a big part of that decision was based on owners who enthusiastically say they love theirs and have put on huge miles without issues.

Carlos Alvarez
Gilbert, AZ
2000 K1200LT-I

post #4 of 56 Old Dec 31st, 2010, 3:44 pm