Second guessing my LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 Old Oct 18th, 2010, 12:05 pm Thread Starter

Second guessing my LT

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the BMW community and cycles. I've ridden small Honda crusiers for many years, and wanted to jump up to a large tour bike. I narrowed it down to the Gold Wing and the LT and the LT won.

Last fall I bought a 2003 LT with 28k miles on it. I took it in for the the 36k service and got a whopping bill but was able to live with it. Rode the bike cross country from PA to NM and back, and loved it.

So now I'm back. Took it in for the 42k service, and got a $3700 bill. Most notable replacement was a rear spring strut [email protected] $729, a new drive shaft @ $691, various other odds and ends, and labor of course.

Now I'm a man of modest means, & not very mechanically inclined. If it goes beyond changing oil, count me out. So I'm wondering if I've gotten in over my head with this bike? At 42 thousand miles is this a sign of poor quality, abuse by a previous owner, or just the cost of riding a BMW?

Thanks for any opinions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old Oct 18th, 2010, 12:37 pm

Re: Second guessing my LT

It sounds to me like you need to find a different shop to work on your 03. There are options available for rear shocks that are much less expensive. For example I have the Hyprepro springs installed over the stock shocks for a price of $ 239 for both front and rear shocks.

Did they tell you why you needed a new driveshaft?

Hopefully someone from your area will jump in here and invite you to a tech session. I have not spent that much on parts on my 03 with 129000 miles on it.

Ron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

747,891 miles on touring motorcycles since 1990

IBA 45658 MOA167437

2000 LTC 90,600 miles KIA (new)
2003 LTE 164,188 miles Silver (Purchased with 1687)