Weather Forecasting - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old Oct 12th, 2010, 2:40 pm Thread Starter

Weather Forecasting

This is probably the best forum to post this question:
Anyone know of a website that has accurate long range weather forecasting??, maybe a month or 2 in advance??
I'm fairly new to touring with 2 up and this info would be a big plus. We've already travelled quite a bit in the rain, but I would like to plan some trips in the months ahead and try to avoid most of the nasty weather. Anyone??

2005 K1200LT
1987 K75S
2010 Honda XR650
Buell Ulsses (R.I.P)
R100GS
++++++
"Hey, I figure what the hell, you know what I mean??"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 Old Oct 12th, 2010, 3:03 pm

Re: Weather Forecasting

Being a glider pilot, I'm seriously into weather. Also, we have two professional Met men in my club. The bad news is that it can't be done. 5 days is about the furthest with any degree of accuracy, and that is only if the various models they use throw up the same result. Otherwise they'll hedge their bets by forecasting two days only.
post #3 of 24 Old Oct 12th, 2010, 3:36 pm

I watch the marine forecasts a lot for trip and passage planning and find that the various services cannot get accurate beyond 2 days as HIGHROAMER says. Learn to read weather maps and learn the symbols, Isobars, Isotherms, etc. Then look at the movement of fronts and pressure areas and you can make you own forecast just about as accurately as the services. You wont' have their computer models and I think that is probably a good thing. I think too often they rely on the models and do not do their due diligence. You can have the best weather forecast and still S%*T happens. My 2 cents

Bill
Eastern Virginia (Middle Peninsula)
K3ZXV
05 Honda Sabre 1100
04 Triumph Speedmaster , Black with