2009 LT purchase - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 Old Oct 9th, 2010, 6:34 pm Thread Starter

2009 LT purchase

I wanted some opinions as to a 2009 LT and a 2009 Harley Ultra Classic. I currently own a Ultra and have the option to get a new 09 LT with 20 miles on it. I have never owned a BMW all Harleys for 30 years, I am not impressed by the ultra handling when on the road even though it is the new frame set up. I am little worried about what I read about the Final Drive situation as I have never been stranded on the side of the road in all these years, I take great care of my bikes and question if the switch is a good one. I have been a Police Motor instructor for 15 years and wonder if the BMW performance is that much greater than the Harley, thanks for letting me ask and get some answers.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old Oct 9th, 2010, 7:09 pm

Talking Re: 2009 LT purchase

Quote:
Originally Posted by scott554
I wanted some opinions as to a 2009 LT and a 2009 Harley Ultra Classic. I currently own a Ultra and have the option to get a new 09 LT with 20 miles on it. I have never owned a BMW all Harleys for 30 years, I am not impressed by the ultra handling when on the road even though it is the new frame set up. I am little worried about what I read about the Final Drive situation as I have never been stranded on the side of the road in all these years, I take great care of my bikes and question if the switch is a good one. I have been a Police Motor instructor for 15 years and wonder if the BMW performance is that much greater than the Harley, thanks for letting me ask and get some answers.

well, let's see.... I had a:
'97 K1100LT that i traded in with 88,000 miles (chestnut roaster!)
2005 K1200 LT, totalled in May '09 with 72,000 miles (walked away with 19k damage to the bike...)
and now a 2009 K1200LT with 19,000 miles.

no big issues, no major failures.