Top heavy? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 5:59 pm Thread Starter

Top heavy?

I have a possible deal working to trade my '09 Harley Road King for an LT. I haven't actually ridden an LT yet but all the talk about it being top heavy worries me a little. Just how much of a beast is this thing at slow speeds? I can turn my Harley in tight circles by lightly riding the rear brake and feathering the clutch/throttle. Is there anyone with experience with both bikes who can lend some insight? Am I in for a surprise? I've been riding for 40 years and am not as young as I used to be.

Thanks,
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 33 Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 6:31 pm

Re: Top heavy?

Hey John,Im new here too,and been ridin Harleys my whole life. Decided I wanted to try something different so sold my 04 Screamin Eagle Electra Glide and bought an LT. Was kinda worried after reading all of the horror stories here. Took me about an hour to get a feel for her,I think the low speed handling is better than the Harley. Mine is an 01,and feathering the clutch,throttle and brake is just as easy. The tough thing getting used to is the difference in the power bands. Where the Harley was a torque monster,dont be afraid to use the throttle on the LT,even low speed. (my wife keeps tappin me,asking if Im going to shift).
One thing I have noticed. I have some 25 mph curves near my house. I could take them at 45-50 on the Harley,but it was telling me to be careful,dont get stupid. Went through at 65 on the LT,and I swear it was calling me a candy ass.
Steve
P.S. Im gonna get a speeding ticket,I just know it! Cant help myself! I will just plead insanity, and get the judge to take the bike for a ride.
post #3 of 33 Old Sep 23rd, 2010, 6:54 pm

You "will' eventually drop the LT, just seems to happen to most riders.

Your leg inseam length will determine your level of difficulity.