A Hello and some questions - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Sep 13th, 2010, 6:24 pm Thread Starter

A Hello and some questions

Hi,
New member here from Austin, TX. I suppose some history is in order. I've been riding for about 40 years and have owned a wide range of bikes but never a BMW. I've heard all the legends about reliability, etc and wonder how many are true? I had heard all the stories about Harley Davidson being poorly made and that turned out to be false. My current ride is a 2009 Road King and I have no complaints at all. The bike I put the most miles on was a 1974 Moto Guzzi El Dorado Police Edition. When I bought it there were 36K miles on the clock. I sold it when there were 138K on it and was still running on the original motor.

Here's my questions. My local dealer, Lone Star BMS-Triumph, had two used bikes I'm considering. One is a 2007 K1200GT and the other is a 2004 K1200LT. The LT has the most miles on it at circa 43K. How different are these bikes? My wife and I often do all day trips on the Road King and will be doing the same if I get a Beemer. How different is the comfort level between the GT & LT? Do BMW's actually last 100K miles if maintained? Any special problems I should be aware of? I noticed a post about the LT being top heavy. Can anyone compare that to a Harley Road King? I took a police motor officer course decades ago. I'm not as young as I used to be but I still take pride in my ability to manuever my HD at slow speeds. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,
John
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Sep 13th, 2010, 6:43 pm

Smile Re: A Hello and some questions

John;

The only question I can attest to is the miles. I do all the regular maintenance and just turned 184,000.One abs sensor,one brake line and one clutch slave cylinder. Worn out: suspension, seat, rear/front disc, driveshaft, and paint.(getting new paint now.)