centerstand Maintenance - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old May 26th, 2010, 12:36 am Thread Starter

Red face centerstand Maintenance

I looked in the hall of wisdom and did a search on the forums, but nothing came up.

Today i went to place my 05LT on it's elec.centerstand and it started to drag half way up, then dropped off the stand. Tried it again, and nothing happend.. Press it again and it started dragging again.. I'm new to the LT's only had it for 6 months, but is there any maintenance i should do to it??? I looked in the Clymer book, but didn't find much ..

Any help would be great!!
Thanks in advance!!!!

Jack Bland III

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2005 BMW K1200LT
1993 Honda CBR900RR
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old May 26th, 2010, 2:02 am
Super Moderator

Re: centerstand Maintenance

There are links to extensive maintenance repair and upkeep for the center stand here by the infamous - Ari "the Farkle-Freak-Finn" Ignatius

http://www.bmwlt.com/forums/showthre...ic+centerstand

Good luck!!

Dan Finazzo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted to get"
post #3 of 5 Old May 26th, 2010, 7:44 am
cws

Garage

Jack, looks like you have a rebuild ahead of you to get clean oil in the unit and maybe a new motor (only $50)!... Set aside a weekend, and read this thread to prepare yourself.
It covers all the tears, fears and frustrations of doing the rebuild, but in the end its not really that hard once you've waded through it, and you'll be very glad you did it now instead of waiting till everything jams up too much.