Radio VS. Mice - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old May 7th, 2010, 1:42 am Thread Starter

Radio VS. Mice

I posted in an another thread that I had found a mouse nest in the upper left fairing. Today while taking the xm radio off the bike I notice that the three upper connectors for the radio had the hell chewed out of them. Three wires on one connector, one on the middle, and two on the outside one. There was two wires laying naked to each other. I used a small screwdriver and separated them all and retaped them. Them wrapped each bundle well with tape. My left side speakers had quit working, so I'm hoping that with this repair...maybe I'll get them back. I just figured that the crappy radio's left bank went out, which still may be the case. I guess I'll find out when I get everything done on this 24k maintenance. This is my first time this far into the bike, so I'm going real slow trying not to screw anything up.

BMW 1200 LTC 2002

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Illinois...The Only State Where The Governors Make The License Plates
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old May 7th, 2010, 9:59 am
Lifetime Supporter

Re: Radio VS. Mice

The mice will probably be back. I've had good results with moth balls in the Cycle-shell when I stow her away for the winter. YMMV depending on where you store the bike.

HTH,
Jer

Jerry Palma
99 K1200LTI Champagne 'Oh, Kay' (dropped: 5)
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
97 K1100LT Aspen Silver Night High Line 'Silver Knight'
85 R80RT 'Lady in Red'
08 535xi Space Gray metallic
09 328i Silver Convertable
17 X3 Glacier Silver metallic

BMWMOA #157323 / ABC #11368 -- All-in-all a newbie!

I love these bikes regardless of what I've needed to fix on them. I'll: Just Ride 'em!
post #3 of 7 Old May 7th, 2010, 11:08 am

+1 on mothballs.