Almost bought it today. - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old May 2nd, 2010, 8:56 pm Thread Starter

Almost bought it today.

I wasn't sure where to post this, moderaters, you are welcome to move it.

I don't normally post my mistakes, but this one made me think.

I rode 600 miles today in ten hours. 500 miles into the trip, I was on a two lane road, with a stop light coming up. Light was green, warning light was not flashing, traffic ahead of me was moving. I started playing with my GPS. I looked up and saw brake lights directly infront of me. I hit the binders. I was coming in fast enough that the car infront of me swerved to the right so I wouldn't hit him. I was able to stop in time, I would have missed the car infront of me even he didin't move right, but I would only have missed him by about 2 feet. The ABS did not engage, but I definately heard the tires start to squeal.

This was entirely my fault, I was not paying attention. I saw a green light and traffic moving, so thought all was fine.

Just thought I would let everyone know what can (and almost did) happen.

Tony

2006 K1200LT "SNOB"

IBA 35008

"I don't like repeat offenders, I like dead offenders" - Ted Nugent

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old May 2nd, 2010, 9:04 pm

Re: Almost bought it today.

Glad you lived to learn from your mistake. We all space out from time to time, and I am no exception.

The key is to learn from those times when you catch yourself at it (letting the mind wander), and remain diligent in keeping repeat mistakes to a minimum!

Brian
CCR: 2008, Midway; 2011, Boise; 2012, Duluth; 2014, Chattanooga. MOA: Billings, 2015; SLC, 2017
CCR-R: 2018, Russellville
'13 K1600 GTL-P - "Eva"
Sold but "beloved" ride: K12 LT - "Pepe"
IBA #31242 (SSx2, BB, BBG)
MOA #136148