New owner questions - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old Oct 4th, 2005, 4:41 pm Thread Starter

New owner questions

Hello to everyone ,
This is my first time here and I have a few questions regarding my 05 LT. I bought it used two weeks ago with 9000 miles on it. So far I love the bike even though it don't have the grunt of my valkyrie. My concerns are the clouds of smoke when first starting it when it's cold. It's not too bad when parked on the center stand but when on the side stand I can fog the whole yard. It also sounds like a diesel when idling and if I run the rpm up between 2000-3000 rpm it makes a loud knocking sound which has me feeling uneasy. I hope this purchase wasn't a mistake as I love everything else about the bike. Thanks Mike (rotax07)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old Oct 4th, 2005, 4:57 pm

The LT does tend to smoke when parked on the side stand, it caused by the downward slant of the pistons. Some do it more than others. Keep it up right for a few seconds, not running, when you park it to reduce the occurences. Otherwise tell the onlookers it a diesel.

My 2000 started getting noisy last week, just like you described. I checked and I had Loose connections at the positive battery connection. It the alternator making the noise. Tightened everything up and she sounds normal again.

Vince Weidig
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2000 LT - LandyachT
2005 Ural Patrol
2003 Artic Cat ATV - Horse
Bayliner Cutty Cabin - Anytime
Airstream B190 -
post #3 of 16 Old Oct 4th, 2005, 9:01 pm

Cool alternator

My bike seems to be making this sound, but the connections on the battery are tight. Could it be the bearing in the alternator? Anyone have any ideas???

post #4 of 16 Old Oct 5th, 2005, 9:37 am