BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

Steering damper seals

19K views 38 replies 22 participants last post by  RABlvmy88 
#1 ·
Has anyone been able to source the seals for the steering damper. I have searched all over without any luck.

Thanks,

#7 ·
Good day sir, I just bought the seals that you mentioned, the number upgrades now to10x20x7 hmsa10rg. I bought 6 of them. but they do not work. I tried many times, but each time I put hard presure on the dampner the oil spurts out. I am a retired BMW master tech with 45 years of doing this. What am I doing wrong. I have to fix it now, I got so pissed off I went and bought a new gtl 1600. So I am now selling the LT. The seal brand is also an skf.

Joe Krebs

#5 ·
Don't waste your time resealing a stock stearing damper because it isn't a good damper to begin with. I suggest a Hyperpro variable. I installed one, last year, and the results are remarkable. Scarified grooves no longer exist. Steel bridges aren't noticeable. It does take a while to get the settings adjusted to your riding style, but IMHO the Hyperpro is as good as it gets and well worth the money it costs a the time it takes to set it up properly.

#6 ·
Hi Guys

I have 2004 and how to fill it in i have ride 40389.127 mi.to be exact,, i live in Thailand so i need to do everything by my self,, no BMW good service here,,Im originally FINNISH rally driver
my damper seems to be very loosen and not getting stiff at all even it's tighten up all the way in (Clock wise tighten) :confused:

#9 ·
I rebuilt my 2000 damper with harwell seals. 20x10x7.....$5.34 each...used 7.5wt fork oil. Fill slowly and actuate to insure all air is out....reassembled and works great. I have two others as spares. Very easy to do with those seals

#11 ·