intro - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old Jul 31st, 2009, 8:18 pm Thread Starter

intro

Hi folks,

I just purchased a 2003 K1200LT (black) and I am headed about out next Tuesday to pick it up.

I have been riding 200+ days a year on Long Island, NY since 2001 as a daily commuter on the motorcycle. Only snow and extreme cold have kept me from riding. I bought a motorcycle as basic transportation.

As a commuter, I have never ridden more than about 60 miles in one shot, so the trip from NH back should be very interesting. Longest trip I ever took as the first ride on my new bike.

I had a Honda ST1100 for a few years as my first bike, and a Vstrom for the last five years.

I am very excited, a little nervous. The nervous will go away after I spend whatever time I need doing figure 8s in the parking lot. I'm pretty big and strong so I don't anticipate any low speed difficulties (famous last words).

I think the K1200TL will be a fantastic daily commuter. After going to the VStrom I really missed the technology of the ST1100 with Traction control and ABS. The new bike gives me all of that that I want. I also need a pretty high weight capacity (I'm 285 myself and I will have a 180+ passenger) so when researching it came down to BMW and Harley Ultra Classic Electra Glide. Harley is only available with ABS new, so that is a lot of money. 6 year old BMW with 28,000 is barely broken in for less than 1/2 the price I am a happy guy.

I'll post more back after the trip.

Oh wait, before I go I have to say that this community was a big factor in going with BMW. I was ignorant and uninformed and overly concerned about final drive failure and service issues. What I learned here made me comfortable that I had now gotten real information not skewed hype. Thanks.

Bob

Bob Pond
2009 K1200LT
potius sero quam nunquam
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old Jul 31st, 2009, 8:25 pm

Re: intro