Electrical Help Needed - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 131 Old Jul 23rd, 2009, 6:23 pm Thread Starter
Enjoy The Ride

Electrical Help Needed

My bike is running so bad it starts to foul a new set of plugs in less than 50 miles. the fuel milage has gone from the low 50s mpg to the mid 20s mpg. It had been at the dealer for almost six weeks & they are stumped. I just can't give them a blank check & have them fix it.

The only fault code is the O2 sensor. 2 different sensors have been installed & both still showed a fault code. They also checked the injectors for leakage. They changed the Motronic control unit & Ign. coil. Nothing helped. The way the bike runs its more than just dumping to much fuel. It barley has enough power to get going from a stop light.

I do have have a good Digital Multimeter but I'm not very good with electronics. The mechanical part of the engine (valve lash,compression test & leak down) is the same as it has been for the last 30,000 miles.

If there is any interest in the Charlotte NC area for a tech session I would be more than happy to have one. I have plenty of space & all the tools that would be needed.

Any thoughts: Thanks Dave

Dave Selvig
2004 Black LT
2000 Canon Red LT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 131 Old Jul 23rd, 2009, 6:34 pm

Re: Electrical Help Needed

Engine temperature sensor?

Paul Ford
01 R1150GS
90 K1200
73 R75/2
post #3 of 131 Old Jul 23rd, 2009, 7:31 pm Thread Starter
Enjoy The Ride

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobygrape
Engine temperature sensor?
It runs the same hot or cold. It also started out as a intermittent problem but now is a full time problem

Dave Selvig
2004 Black LT
2000 Canon Red LT

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 131 Old Jul 23rd, 2009, 7:53 pm