Topping Up Gas - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old Feb 14th, 2009, 12:02 pm Thread Starter

Topping Up Gas

Hi everybody,
I bought a used 06 LT about a month ago. Only put about 400 miles on it so far due to the snow so I'm still quite new to it.

I've noticed when I fill it up the black bar on the gas meter goes up to about 7/8 full, never to the top. I've been filling it on the center stand and trying to top up to about 2" from the top. Do I need to fill it on the side stand to get it to register FULL?

Thanks in advance

- Don
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old Feb 14th, 2009, 12:08 pm

Re: Topping Up Gas

Yes, an LT should be on the side stand, and even then its hard to get it to register all the way full. Sometimes I get it just right but be careful not to over fill.

Just Go
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Mike
Cleveland Ohio
2019 K1600b Grand America, Blue Max.
post #3 of 19 Old Feb 14th, 2009, 12:16 pm

Wink Re: Topping Up Gas

For sure! If you don't put her on the side stand you will never be able to top her off.

John

John & Marilyn Fisher
'00 K1200LTC "Katie"
'95 Triumph "Tigger"
'12 Triumph 800XC "Tigger II" (RIP)
'12 Triumph 1200 Explorer "Shadow Tigger"
Hillsboro, Oregon

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 19 Old Feb 14th, 2009, 12:45 pm
Lifetime Supporter

Yup, side stand allows you to fully fill the tank. Another suggestion since you're new to the beast. I'm in the habit of leaving it in gear when I stop and just putting down the side stand which kills the engine. That makes sure she doesn't roll forward on you and take a nap against the fuel pumps.

Life happens...you control your reaction.

2018 Honda CRF250L Rally (fun in the woods)
2015 R1200 RT (holy cowwhat a bike)
2007 K1200 LT (sold)
2005 DR 650 (sold)