Looking to buy used LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old Nov 8th, 2008, 9:23 pm Thread Starter

Looking to buy used LT

Hello all
New member here needing advice on used LT's. Need to stay in the $8-11K range. I have found a locally owned 05 with 64K. It looks to be well taken care of and had the FD replaced @ 46K under warranty. Are there any improvements to the replacements? I am new to these bikes & BMW's in general. I've done a little research on this board and a few others, and am awear of the clutch and FD problems. Looking for any other info you have on what to look for, best year mdls ect.
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old Nov 8th, 2008, 10:24 pm
Lifetime Supporter

Re: Looking to buy used LT

Dude.. I have an '05.. loveit.. only have 32k on it at this time...

The "replacement" was probably identical to the original.

There have been hundreds if not thousands of threads addressing this "FD" issue on this board alone.

Just ride it... learn what to look for.. fix if it fails and ride it...

BTW.. see if you can get the dealer to throw in an extended warranty...

J.M.J...
Dcn Channing

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 17 Old Nov 8th, 2008, 10:33 pm

The '05 and newer have some nice changes from the earlier models such as powered center stand, LCD display, better low speed handling, more powerfull engine are some of the updates.

Look it over closely for leaking seals, dirty brake fluid ect... service records are a nice bonus.

2006 R1200RT
2006 Kawasaki KLR 650
2000 Suzuki Bandit 1200s

post #4 of 17 Old Nov 9th, 2008, 5:22 am

Garage

Hi guys,

I'm currently shopping for an LT, too... can you explain what is the "FD" issue? What should I look for, when I'm at the dealer?