Advice for new K1200 LT Owner - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old Jan 9th, 2006, 10:51 am Thread Starter

Wink Advice for new K1200 LT Owner

Hi All,

I will be going to Alabama to buy a 2002 Titan Silver bike. I plan on riding it back to Texas on the 14th and 15th. I have been riding for a while (31 years) but I have never owned a bike this big or this style. Do you have any advice?
Should I take the MSF ERC class on this bike? Is there someone in DFW area that can give me some pointers about riding an LT? You guy have scarred me about dropping this bike, is it really that big of a problem? It didn't feel that top heavy but then I only rode it for about 30 minutes, but that was in traffic, I thought it felt lower than the new R1200 RT.

--Bo
2013 Magma Red R1200GSA
2012 Candy Apple Red R1200R
2007 (2006 Blue Panels) R1200GS (RIP Poteau, OK)
2006 Graphite K1200GT (sold)
2002 Titan Silver LT (sold)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Don't Panic!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Achtung! böse Eichhörnchen!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old Jan 9th, 2006, 11:28 am

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas42
Hi All,

I will be going to Alabama to buy a 2002 Titan Silver bike. I plan on riding it back to Texas on the 14th and 15th. I have been riding for a while (31 years) but I have never owned a bike this big or this style. Do you have any advice?
Should I take the MSF ERC class on this bike? Is there someone in DFW area that can give me some pointers about riding an LT? You guy have scarred me about dropping this bike, is it really that big of a problem? It didn't feel that top heavy but then I only rode it for about 30 minutes, but that was in traffic, I thought it felt lower than the new R1200 RT.