ERC and LT - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old Oct 17th, 2008, 9:01 am Thread Starter

ERC and LT

Has anyone taken the LT through the Experienced Rider Course? I've taken the course on an RT and a GS, but worried the LT would wear me out and I'm not sure I could do those figure 8 boxes on the beast.

AKA "Speedbump"

Past:
2000 RT
2003 LT
2007 GSA
2013 GS
Another 2007 GSA
2007 RTP
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old Oct 17th, 2008, 9:57 am

Re: ERC and LT

I took the course this spring in Minnesota with 30 -40 mph wind speeds, raining, 40 degrees and a bad shoulder. Never put it down and passed the course with flying colors.

But I have been riding the bike for 5 years and do practice stops, and slow turns from time to time.

Tom Ress
Great White North
Minnesota
Canyon Red 2000

You have to grow up to have a mid-life crisis!!!!!

I could play with women or with cars, I find cars are cheaper and you can write a book about cars a guy would understand.
post #3 of 16 Old Oct 17th, 2008, 10:37 am

I took ERC at CCR two years ago. The figure 8 was the only part that gave me problems. There were 8 other people taking the course. 7 were on LTs, one on a GT and I on a triumph. If I remember correctly, the guy on the GT was the only one to do the figure 8.

Al Strickland
Blairsville, Georgia
1967 Honda Cub
1972 Honda CB350
1979 Suzuki GS750E
2001 R1150GS (gone -- victim of a Highway 28 curve)
2002 K1200LT Trike (now history, transmission died)
2009 R1200GS
2013 K1600GTL
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2009 K1300GT

post #4 of 16 Old Oct 17th, 2008, 10:51 am

Talking Re: ERC and LT