Thinking of buying 2000lt - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old Jul 18th, 2008, 7:50 am Thread Starter

Thinking of buying 2000lt

I know I am probably opening up a can of worms but, I want to pick up a new to me cruiser(currently riding '87 kawi voyager). Locally there is a 2000lt with 50,000 miles. What should I be looking for, does the 2000 have any unique problems, how many miles should it last? I have been riding Kawi's for 25 years and this would be my first BMW. Any help would be greatly appreciated
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old Jul 18th, 2008, 8:05 am

Re: Thinking of buying 2000lt

Welcome to the group. I have a 2000 LT that I bought new and have put 59,000 enjoyable miles on it.

There were no common issues with that model year, in fact they had several minor modifications from the initial 99 models.

I would look for any available service records. The maintence costs can be high if you have the dealer do everything because of the labor involved in getting the body work off to do things like air and fuel filter replacements. There are good resources on this site for you to learn to do all regular maintence yourself if you are at all mechanically inclined.

If you don't have documentation of recent service it would be a good idea to do a major (24k) service to bring everything up to spec then just enjoy the bike.
post #3 of 17 Old Jul 18th, 2008, 8:08 am

As long as the maintenance records are there.....It should be a sound bike to own. I have a 2000 and it has been the most maintenance free bike I have ever had. Scheduled maintenance is very important.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

R1200GSA
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

K1200LTC
Tony Quick
Sanford, NC

post #4 of 17 Old Jul 18th, 2008, 8:08 am