final drive impending failure light - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 Old Jun 30th, 2008, 1:38 pm Thread Starter

final drive impending failure light

I recently had my FD overhauled due to slivers and flakes found on drain plug magnet. The FD was making a tire rubbing noise most noticeable while decelerating. There was no oil leakage or play of any kind at the rear wheel.The gentleman who did the overhaul replaced all bearings and seals and was quite surprised to find the FD had 150000 km. on it. I am a helicopter mechanic. All helicopters use similar magnetic drian plugs except they wire them to a warning light on the panel. When that light comes on it always means land as soon as possible.This would be a fairly easy modification to do on a LT or any other BMW for that matter.I would like feed back from anyone intersted. Dan Beck
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old Jun 30th, 2008, 2:00 pm

Cool Re: final drive impending failure light

Dan, someone else brought up something along these lines earlier, and it was not enthusiastically received. I believe the main reason for the lack of approval had to do with just what you do if the light does come on!

That being said, since I am also a Helo Maintenance / Aircrewman type (USCG 24 years of Sikorsky experience) and am still involved in the oversight of Helos, I believe it is worth trying! I would suggest at least considering the "Fuzzburner" type of Chip Detector however, since we do often have fuzz on the mag plug when we pull it.

Let me know if you want some feedback or assistance on this project.

John

John & Marilyn Fisher
'00 K1200LTC "Katie"
'95 Triumph "Tigger"
'12 Triumph 800XC "Tigger II" (RIP)
'12 Triumph 1200 Explorer "Shadow Tigger"
Hillsboro, Oregon

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.