Voltage regulator? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old Apr 21st, 2008, 10:52 pm Thread Starter

Voltage regulator?

Here's a new problem for me and after 225k miles I've had most of the common ones!

The last three times I started the bike I noticed that the voltage output doesn't jump right up to 13.5v like it used to. Now is stays around 11v for 15 seconds before it suddenly jumps up.

I'm no mechanic but could this be a stuck voltage regulator and if so, where can I find it?

Thanks in advance...

Cheers!

Bob Bacon
El Cerrito, (Northern) CA
'15 GTL-E in White
'09 LT in Blk "Weave II" 120k miles before it was totaled
'00 LTC+ in CR "Weave" 240k miles before it was totaled
MOA IBA HDDC CRS
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take but by the moments that take our breath away.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old Apr 22nd, 2008, 6:13 am

Re: Voltage regulator?

The regulator is in the alternator. Did you mean 225,000 miles on the bike?

If so, you probably have badly worn down slip rings on the alternator rotor. the exicitation current for the rotor goes through two brushes in the regulator that ride on the slip ring. One slip ring wears much faster than the other for some reason. Maybe reverse "plating' of the copper due to electrolysis.

If you pull the alternator and want to replace the slip ring assembly, I have a link to a site that sells that.

I don't want to achieve immortality through my work...I want to achieve it through not dying.

David Shealey
Dandridge, TN
EX: '01 Black LT, BAT BYKE (Totaled at 110,000 miles)
IBA SS, BB, BBG, 10/10ths.
No bike now, but maybe in the future.
post #3 of 11 Old Apr 22nd, 2008, 6:18 am