12000 mile: C'mon Is thir really nesessary??? - BMW Luxury Touring Community

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old Apr 20th, 2008, 12:26 pm Thread Starter

Red face 12000 mile: C'mon Is thir really nesessary???

Hey guys,

Just finished all of the "fluids part of the 12k. I'm just getting into the "filters and valves portion. All I can say is WOW! Don't get me wrong, not that its a big deal as far as difficulty, but still. This much technology and having to do so much to THE [email protected]??? Its 78 right now, clear blue skies, and my garage looks like a props shed for the "TRANSFORMERS" movie. Sorry, I'm ranting, I'm sure I'm not the first to whine about it. Maybe I'll learn some tricks along the way. Take care,

Brian
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old Apr 20th, 2008, 12:43 pm

Re: 12000 mile: C'mon Is thir really nesessary???

The valves should just be checked, I doubt you will need any adjustment.
Filters... You should be able to skip the fuel filter, but I bet your air filter is dirty. Unfortunately you still need to remove the tank to get to it.

Gilles & Kathy
BMWMOA# 154719
IBA# 71594
2011 Ostra Gray RT
06 Mercedes-Benz E350 Estate (parts and people hauler)
2012 BMW X3 (parts and people hauler)
86 Porsche 911 Cabriolet (my "new" baby)

For her I climbed the highest mountain!
For her I swam across the deepest ocean!
For her I walked through the largest desert!
And then she left me... She said I was never home!!!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 15 Old Apr 20th, 2008, 1:10 pm

Yeah, it's necessary...

The first time you do it, it'll take a LOT of time, as you figure out all the "WTF's?". After that, goes a lot quicker as you figure out work-arounds.

Just make sure you have an electric screwdriver, with a T-25 fitting, and you can strip her down in no time. Get the metal fuel quick disconnects if you don't already.