BMW Luxury Touring Community banner

12000 mile: C'mon Is thir really nesessary???

2K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  rkdrmr1 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

Just finished all of the "fluids part of the 12k. I'm just getting into the "filters and valves portion. All I can say is WOW! Don't get me wrong, not that its a big deal as far as difficulty, but still. This much technology and having to do so much to THE BEAST@12k??? Its 78 right now, clear blue skies, and my garage looks like a props shed for the "TRANSFORMERS" movie. Sorry, I'm ranting, I'm sure I'm not the first to whine about it. Maybe I'll learn some tricks along the way. Take care,

Brian

#2 ·
The valves should just be checked, I doubt you will need any adjustment.
Filters... You should be able to skip the fuel filter, but I bet your air filter is dirty. Unfortunately you still need to remove the tank to get to it.

#3 ·
Yeah, it's necessary...

The first time you do it, it'll take a LOT of time, as you figure out all the "WTF's?". After that, goes a lot quicker as you figure out work-arounds.

Just make sure you have an electric screwdriver, with a T-25 fitting, and you can strip her down in no time. Get the metal fuel quick disconnects if you don't already.

I agree with Giles on the Fuel Filter, you can get away with delaying that until the 24K (unless you drive into Mexico... don't ask how I know...).

#4 ·
zippy_gg said:
The valves should just be checked, I doubt you will need any adjustment.
Filters... You should be able to skip the fuel filter, but I bet your air filter is dirty. Unfortunately you still need to remove the tank to get to it.
I discovered that to replace the air filter, that I can slide the tank back far enough w/o unhooking the fuel disconnects. I've even done it with a full tank of fuel.
The filter has been dirty every time at 12,000 miles and I ride all paved roads except for a 400' driveway.